Image Map
 News Home

Summit Series (9-25-10 #2) Results

SUPER PRO                          CAR                            HOMETOWN              ET       MPH    DIAL-IN

Win:     Brian Smith                 ’05 Undercover            Flowery Branch, GA    5.23     122.57 (5.22)

R/U:     Art Schafer, Jr.            ’92 Spitzer                   Buckhead, GA             5.53     122.37 (5.52)

Semi:   Joe Haddon                 ’05 Miller Dragster       Oxford, GA

Semi:   Danny Dixon               ’81 Malibu                    Cleveland, GA


PRO                                        CAR                            HOMETOWN              ET       MPH    DIAL-IN

Win:     Eric Lewis                   ’00 Mustang                 Commerce, GA           6.79     102.17 (6.78)

R/U:     Russell Haskins          ’88 Mustang                 Marietta, GA                7.16     94.59   (7.11)(foul)

Semi:   Rob Hogue                  ’67 Camaro                 Loganville, GA


SPORTSMAN                         CAR                            HOMETOWN              ET       MPH    DIAL-IN

Win:     Scott Reynolds           ’90 Firebird                  Cartersville, GA           9.02     76.72   (9.00)

R/U:     Matthew Bates            ’99 Firebird                  Loganville, GA             9.00     77.04   (9.04)

Semi:   Allen Long                   ’96 Silverado               Ballground, GA


MOTORCYCLE                      BIKE                            HOMETOWN              ET       MPH    DIAL-IN

Win:     Brian Wilson               ’82 Suzuki                   Tallapoosa, GA           5.62     118.26 (5.48)

R/U:     Steve Jackson                        ’08 Kawasaki               Bogart, GA            6.10           119.90 (6.00)(foul)

Semi:   Jimmy Heisler             ’80 Kawasaki               Woodstock, GA

Semi:   Howard Bowman        ’82 Harley                    Homer, GA




By: Amy Glover


(Commerce, GA – September 25) Because several Summit ET Series events were rained out in 2010, Atlanta Dragway officials scheduled a second race to allow racers the opportunity to earn more championship points. Racers were ready to go for the second event of two races today, concluded by the NHRA King of the Track run-off. Scott Reynolds ruled the Sportsman class, and the Wilson Gang took home a handful of victories for the night and the season.


Tonight’s second race was also the final 2010 Summit ET Series event at Atlanta Dragway. Congratulations to the new 2010 track champions: John Hobbs (Super Pro), Bruce Wilson (Pro), Mel Abney (Sportsman), Brian Wilson (Motorcycle), Austin Carden (8-12 Jr Dragster) and Jennifer Jarrett (13-17 Jr Dragster). Honorable mentions go to the second place 2010 points earners; Brian Smith in Super Pro, Chad Brewer in Pro, Rickey Morris in Sportsman, Howard Bowman in Motorcycle, Madison Lee in 8-12 Jr Dragster and Brittney Hellemn in 13-17 Jr. Dragster.


The Super Pro category featured an all-dragster final, with Brian Smith (’05 Undercover—Flowery Branch, GA) dialed in at 5.22 and Art Schafer, Jr. (’92 Spitzer) dialed in at 5.53. Schafer left first with a .028 reaction, Smith following with a close .033 reaction time. It was anybody’s race as Schafer and Smith raced neck-and-neck to the top end, but Smith crossed first in 5.234 seconds at 122.57 mph; Schafer finished in 5.539 seconds at 122.37, allowing Smith an admirably fractional .0002 margin of victory. “It was long day, but I’m going to the [Division II] finals.” Brian Smith climbed the Super Pro points, starting the day in sixth place and ending the night in second. Smith thanked his crew chief Stacy Blanton, Blanton Collision Center, and Robert Frizzell of Undercover Chassis. Joe Haddon (’05 Miller Dragster—Oxford, GA) and Danny Dixon (’81 Malibu—Cleveland, GA) finished their evening in the semi-finals.


The Pro final was Mustang vs. Mustang when Eric Lewis (Commerce, GA) lined up his ’00 model dialed at 6.78 against Russell Haskins (Marietta, GA) in an ’88 edition dialed in at 7.11. Russell Haskins jumped the gun with a -.066 foul, handing the win to Lewis just before Lewis cut a -.055 red light. Lewis finished in 6.79 seconds at 102.17 mph while Haskins ran it out for a 7.16 elapsed time at 94.59 mph. The double foul victory was Lewis’s first win of the year: “It was pretty wild, and it’s been a long time since my last win.” Lewis thanked Ted Leverette, his Proflow sponsor, Ace Custom Audio, and Mr. Ironside Rick Botts of Ironside Racing. Rob Hogue (Loganville, GA) finished third in his ’67 Camaro.


Scott Reynolds (Cartersville, GA) dominated the Sportsman class for the second time tonight, dialing his ’90 Firebird at 9.00 against Matthew Bates (Loganville, GA) in a ’99 Firebird, dialed in at 9.04. Bates cut a .070 reaction time while Reynolds held his own with a .064 green light. Bates broke out with a 9.00 second run at 77.04 mph, giving Reynolds the better run in 9.02 seconds at 76.72 mph, and a .0592 margin of victory. “The car was working good,” Reynolds said, “and the driver didn’t do too bad!” Reynolds thanked “Roy,” who “put a good tune in my car—it ran its number all day.” Allen Long (’96 Silverado—Ballground, GA) finished third in Sportsman.


Motorcycle points leader Brian Wilson (Tallapoosa, GA) rocketed to the finals on his ’82 Suzuki, lined up against Steve Jackson (Bogart, GA) on an ’08 Kawasaki. With a 6.00 prediction next to Wilson’s 5.48 dial-in, Jackson had the handicap tree, but launched too early for a -.010 foul. Wilson cut a .031 green light, sealing his championship season with the win in 5.62 seconds at 118.26 mph. Jackson finished in 6.10 seconds at 119.90 mph. Wilson thanked the Wilson Gang: his mom Sue and dad Jesse, his brothers Michael and Bruce (2010 Pro champion), and his wife Robin. “Now I’m shooting for GainesvilleWilson said, ready to compete in the Division II finals. The first event’s winner Jimmy “Cha Cha” Heisler (’80 Kawasaki—Woodstock, GA) and Howard Bowman (’82 Harley—Homer,GA) ended their night in the semi-finals.


Class winners from the first race of the day were paired against the class winners of the second event to determine who would compete in the NHRA King of the Track runoff. The winners of the King of the Track run-offs were Brian Wilson for the Motorycycle class, Eric Lewis for the Pro class and Brian Smith for the Super Pro class. Sportsman double-winner Scott Reynolds earned automatic entry into the runoff. Brian Wilson turned in the best run among the four with a 0.069 package, topping off his 2010 Motorcycle championship and event win with the title of 2010 NHRA King of the Track at Atlanta Dragway and a coveted “Wally” trophy.


Sanctioned by the National Hot Rod Association (NHRA), Atlanta Dragway is located just off I-85 at Exit 149 in the Banks Crossing area of Commerce, Georgia. Information on all 2010 events may be obtained by calling the track office (706-335-2301) or logging on to


 Motorcycle Winner & King of the Track Winner- Brian Wilson

 Pro Winner- Eric Lewis


 Motorcycle Winner & King of the Track Winner- Brian Wilson

 Pro Winner- Eric Lewis


 Super Pro Winner- Brian Smith

 Sportsman Winner- Scott Reynolds


 Super Pro Winner- Brian Smith

 Sportsman Winner- Brian Smith

E-mail this article

Print this article