Image Map

Summit Series Bracket Finals Results



CECIL, Ga. (October 2, 2010) – The South Georgia Motorsports Park Team piled up 42
points to take their first Team Championship for this weekend’s NHRA Southeast Division Summit Racing Series Finals at South Georgia Motorsports Park in Cecil Ga., while two Georgia racers added individual championships.


Following the South Georgia team were the teams from Sunshine Dragstrip and Bradenton Motorsports Park who are sister tracks from Florida.  Sunshine scored 39 points to finish second and Bradenton finished in a tie for 3rd with Atlanta Dragway with 34 points.


Phillip Owens representing Atlanta Dragway led the individual winners taking home the trophy in the Super Pro class.  The Lithia Springs, Ga., racer blasted down the track in 4.725 seconds at 138.86 mph for the win against Gary Marshall, North Fort Myers, Fla.  Myers, racing for Bradenton Motorsports Park ran 4.841 at 141.33 for the runner up finish.

 Phillip Owens, Gary Williams, Jimmy Santos and Mike Lakoskey claimed NHRA Summit Racing Series Southeast Division titles.        Chris Simmons photo.

Joining Owens was Leesburg, Ga., resident Jimmy Santos, running for Silver Dollar Raceway, who held off the quicker Steve Foley, racing for Bristol Dragway from Barbourville, Ky., for the win in the Sportsman class.  Santos went 8.387 seconds in his ’79 Camaro to Foley’s 8.213 in his ’74 Duster.  The win was Santos first win of the season and the biggest of his career.


In the Pro class, Gary Williams outlasted the rest of the field winning over David Scott, Jacksonville, Fla.  Williams, Bradenton, Fla., put his ’85 S-10 in the winner’s circle with a lap of 6.460 seconds at 101.04 mph to Scott’s 6.953 in his Camaro.  Williams also won on Friday in the 6.50 Index class knocking out Dennis Deal, Bonaire, Ga.


The win in Motorcycle went to Fleming Island, Fla., rider Mike Lakoskey and his ’95 Suzuki.  Lakoskey took the win with a lap of 5.290 seconds at 130.09 mph against Mike Voss of Maplewood, Minn., at 5.623, 114.93 mph.  These four winners will advance to the Summit Racing Series National Championship in Pomona, Calif., in November where they will face off against the Summit Division Champions from NHRA’s six other divisions.


Other winner’s on Friday were Viktor Adams, Gainesville, Fla., in the 7.50 Index class and his ’89 Firebird over John Norris, Royston, Ga.; Robert Ward, Sanford, Fla., against Charlie McCulloch, Kennesaw, Ga., in the Open Comp Full Body class; and Jerry Norton, Bradenton, Fla., over Aaron Roberts, Bluff City, Tenn., in Open Comp Open Body.


The division’s High School Championship came down to Allen Long (representing Atlanta Dragway) of Etowah High School in Woodstock, Ga. and Trevor Estes, Tallahassee, Fla..  Long had the better of the reaction times on the start and wheeled his ’96 Chevy pick-up to a 11.064 seconds at 59.24 mph for the win.


The following are final results from the NHRA Southeast Division Summit Racing Series Finals at South Georgia Motorsports Park:


Team Championship Final Points Standings


South Georgia Motorsports Park



Sunshine Dragstrip



Bradenton Motorsports Park



Atlanta Dragway



Bristol Dragway



Silver Dollar Raceway



Orlando Speedworld Dragway



Music City Raceway



Gainesville Raceway



Northwest Tennesee Motorsports Park



Emerald Coast Dragway



Puerto Rico International Raceway



Super Pro

Phillip Owens, Lithia Springs, Ga., ’05 Dragster 4.725 seconds, 138.86 mph def. Gary Marshall, Fort Myers, Fla., ’00 dragster 4.841, 141.33


Gary Williams, Bradenton, Fla., ’85 S-10, 6.460, 101.04 def. David Scott, Jacksonville, Fla., Camaro, 6.953, 96.13


Jimmy Santos, Leesburg, Ga., ’79 Camaro, 8.387, 81.40 def. Steve Foley, Barbourville, Ky., ’74 Duster, 8.213, 78.57


Mike Lakoskey, Fleming Island, Fla., ’95 Suzuki, 5.290, 130.09 def. Mike Voss, Maplewood, Minn., 5.623, 114.93.


6.50 Index

Gary Williams, Bradenton, Fla., ‘85 S-10, 7.376, 57.50 def. Dennis Deal, Bonaire, Ga., ’93 Chevy


7.50 Index

Viktor Adams, Gainesville, Fla., ’89 Firebird, 7.499, 84.43 def. John Norris, Royston, Ga., ’86 Camaro, 7.476, 78.52


Open Comp Full Body

Robert Ward, Sanford, Fla., ’72 Maverick 8.472, 78.87 def. Charlie McCulloch, Kennesaw, Ga., ’98 Cobra, 6.945,101.58


Open Comp Open Body

Jerry Norton, Bradenton, Fla., 5.070, 127.98 def. Aaron Roberts, Bluff City, Tenn., 4.923, 137.53


High School

Allen Long, Ballfround, Ga., ’96 Chevy, 11.064, 59.24 def. Trevor Estes, Tallahassee, Fla., ’71 Maverick, 8.520, 79.22


Team Atlanta Dragway.  Joe Haddon photo.

E-mail this article

Print this article